Guess whose coming to dinner! Do you know what they can eat? Those with medically necessitated food restrictions or voluntary special diets often struggle to eat in restaurants and at parties.
As a host, it is proper etiquette to ask guests if they have any dietary restrictions and to do your best to accommodate their needs. As someone who requires a certain diet, help the host by offering to bring a dish you can eat.
You should know the lingo and consider your options before planning your next party.
Celiac disease is a genetic disorder where certain types of protein, called gluten, set off an autoimmune response that damages the small intestine. The small intestine then loses its ability to absorb the nutrients found in food. Those with the disease should avoid all forms of wheat, commercial salad dressing, instant coffee, canned soup and stock, beer or any beverage made from grain alcohol and canned tuna, to name a few.
There are a lot of delicious gluten-free recipes that all guests will enjoy.
Whether you have Celiac disease or you know someone who does, plan to attend the sixth annual “The Incredible, Edible Gluten-Free Food Fair” at the Denver Merchandise Mart Aug. 19. More information about the fair, in addition to gluten-free recipes and information can be found on the Denver Metro Celiac Support website.
Many people can’t properly digest lactose, a type of natural sugar found in milk and dairy products. People who experience this intolerance should avoid milk products. While most people with lactose intolerance can find plenty to eat at a party, there are numerous lactose-free recipes that are delicious. Food.com has a very comprehensive listing of lactose-free recipes.
More and more people are choosing some form of a vegetarian diet. However, there are many categories of vegetarians and, as a host, knowing what you can and can’t serve can be confusing. Here is a quick guide.
Semi-Vegetarian: Someone who consumes dairy products, eggs, chicken and fish but no other animal flesh.
Ovo-Lacto-Vegetairan: They eat no meat, poultry, fish or seafood but they do eat eggs and drink milk. A majority of vegetarians fall in this category.
Ovo-Vegetarian: They eat no meat or dairy products except for eggs.
Lacto-Vegetarian: They consume no meat or dairy products except for milk.
Vegan: They do not consume any animal products or by-products.
With the increasing numbers of vegetarians, it is usually a good idea to prepare a vegetarian option for you party guests. It may seem overwhelming but there are thousands of recipes that are easy to make and taste great – recipes that both vegetarians and meat-eater alike will devour. Here are some options Martha Stewart just released for Earth Day.
Raw Food Diet
Made up of 75 percent fruits and vegetables, raw foodists choose to eat plant foods in their natural form, uncooked. Raw foodists believe high heat destroys enzymes and vitamins critical for proper digestion. Staples of this diet include seaweed, sprouts, sprouted seeds, whole grains, beans, dried fruits and nuts.
Try one of these raw food recipes at your next party.
Working with a Caterer
Serendipity will always work with clients to accommodate dietary restrictions. We will help you select a menu that satisfies all the guests’ palettes. Call a Serendipity service consultant to start planning your party today.